Inside Singapore’s new Raffles hotel
After more than two years of refurbishment, Raffles Singapore is finally open again and welcoming guests.
The three-phased restoration of the outrageously glamorous property, which was declared a National Monument by the Singapore Government in 1987, began back in February 2017. It’s now a gleaming beacon of style with new suite categories, new dining areas and a totally refreshed look.
“We are very pleased to be part of the reopening of the iconic Raffles Singapore, officially returning it to the city, refreshed, reimagined and revitalised,” said Jeannette Ho, vice president Raffles brand and strategic relationships.
The Raffles building began life as a privately owned beach house back in the 1830s and operated for the first time as a hotel under the name Emerson’s Hotel, when a Dr Charles Emerson leased the building in the 1870s. After Emerson’s death and the expiry of his lease on the property in 1887, it was snapped up by Armenian hoteliers the Sarkies Brothers and on December 1, 1887, the ten-room Raffles Hotel opened.
New wings and rooms were added over subsequent decades and by 1894 there were 75 rooms and the Palm Court Wing had been added. In 1899 a new main building was constructed on the site of the original beach house, with state-of-the-art features including powered ceiling fans and electric lights.
Today, Raffles boasts all-suite accommodation divided into nine categories, the Residence, Promenade and Studio suites being the latest additions.
Raffles Arcade has been newly outfitted with a Raffles Boutique and other retail brands.
A new French restaurant, La Dame de Pic, has been opened and a Mediterranean ‘diner’ style restaurant by Alain Ducasse is on its way.
The Tiffin Room has been redecorated and the rooftop pool deck has been renovated.
And happily, Long Bar is still serving up those infamous Singapore Slings.